quick lesson

Last Christmas, I asked for an English Standard Version Bible, and my parents were kind enough to buy me one. The certain terms and phrases that it uses are, in comparison with the NIV and NASB, much more eloquent and meaningful and in some cases, a better translated explanation.

Anyhow, I was reading Colossians 3:22 & 23, and the verse just completely stuck out to me. The way in which it was worded was perfect and very meaningful. The verse addresses how slaves are to act toward their masters. Don’t get me wrong skeptics, but Jesus’ ministry was not that of abolition, but rather that of love. What the people did with that idea was really a choice, but in the context of the culture, it would have been extremely inappropriate to rally against slavery in that time and a big turn-off for many people. (Edit: In this period in history – correct me if I’m wrong – slaves were hired workers that lived with their owners, such as a butler or maid. The main point is, the “slaves” were treated like, and in actuality were, a part of the family rather than a piece of property that you could treat like an animal.) ANYWAYS…I think that this verse can apply to our own lives as well. It can for me anyway. The verse reads:

Slaves, obey in everything those who are your earthly masters, not by way of eyeservice, as people-pleasers, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord. Whatever you do, work heartily, as for the Lord and not for men.

Isn’t that an interesting way to put it? Not by way of “eyeservice” but with a “sincerity of heart.” I acknowledge that in my Christian life, I often display my “Christianity” so others can see. It’s selfish and lately I’ve been convicted about it. I think that other Christ-followers can relate in some ways. Eyeservice. Service FOR the eyes. Service that OTHERS can see, and not praise God, but praise us. God is jealous and wants the praise for Himself.

In Matthew 6, there is a phrase that Jesus repeats 3 times.

And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.

Once in verse 4, once in verse 6, and once in verse 18. He tells us that when we pray we should go into our rooms and shut the door and pray to God who sees in secret, fast with a fast that may not be seen by others but by our Father who sees in secret, and when we give to the needy we should not let our left hand know what our right hand is doing.

Live publicly your faith! Live radically! But please don’t put on a show. We (myself included) all need to work on this I think. Let’s ask God for help and guidance and pursue His will.

If we are earnestly seeking after His will, we’re probably already in it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

