what’s new?

Well, to begin, the style of this blog is new. I’ve decided that, in addition to posting things I’m learning, I’m going to post blogs about what is going on in my life every once in a while. Hopefully it will provide you humor, entertainment, and ways that you can pray for/with me. This post is just some of what I’ve been thinking about here at school.

My “end all” goal is to get to the foreign mission field. I have had such a tug on my heart to go there that everything I have been learning and experiencing has been filtered through that goal. As such, I’m trying to figure out the fastest way to get there while still being content with where God has me right now, mainly here at Azusa Pacific University. I recently talked with a friend of mine who asked me a question: Why am I at Azusa if I want to be on the mission field so badly? A hard question to answer. For now, I sense that this is where God wants me at the present time. This answer will have to suffice for now. I face many years till I get to the mission field, and I’m waiting quite patiently (Psalm 37:7a); realizing how much debt I am incurring by staying here and paying nearly full tuition every year – a tuition that increases significantly from year to year – for four years, I can’t help but question whether or not I should be going to this school if it means I’ll be spending about +5 more years after college working off my school debts. Not to mention the 4 years I’ll be spending at New Tribes Bible Institute BEFORE I get assigned to the field. That’s 9 years or more after college! It saddens me to realize that it will take that long to get to the place where I know God wants me to be serving Him.

I have considered the possibility of going straight to NTBI, but I think that I need to mature emotionally and spiritually before I take that next step. A four-year university seems like the perfect place to do this, but at what cost?

Wheaton College forgives school debts if the person whom they are forgiving is going into full time missions. Should I go there? The Lord does not endorse indebtedness. “Owe no one anything,” Romans 13:8. “…and forgive us our debts, as we also have forgiven our debtors.” Matthew 6:12

While I was in Papua New Guinea during my Interface training, we had a seminar on finances and debt. The missionaries there were very adamant about avoiding school debt as much as possible. A student will come out of college excited to get on the field, thinking that they will spend a few years paying off their loans, when in reality, this pursuance of financial freedom turns into a cycle that becomes increasingly difficult to escape. Some family friends of ours are actually experiencing this difficulty now. I don’t want to become a part of this American system that I hear is so difficult to escape.

Please pray for me. Pray that God will give me a clear vision of what He would have me do in this situation. I have considered every possible avenue I might be able to take and have come up empty-handed. In Isaiah 30:21, it says, “And whether you turn to the right or to the left you will hear a voice behind you saying this is the way, walk in it.” Pray that I might hear Christ’s voice. I want what God desires for my life to become part of what I desire for my life. With the busy-ness of college and all the “going-ons” here, it is difficult to get away and just listen, so pray that I might find time for solitude here. Thanks, and thanks for taking the time to read this if you happened to get this far =)

May the LORD bless you and keep you. May He make His face shine upon you and be gracious to you. May the Lord turn His face toward you and give you peace.
Numbers 6:24-26
    • Michael
    • November 4th, 2008

    Great to read your strong desire to go to the mission field! I know how you feel! Just be patient. The years you spend in preparation for the mission field are also very important. And I don’t think it’s a bad idea get an education in a different field first. After high school, I spent 1 year in the military, 4 years doing a BA in French, 1 year doing an MA in Translation and 4 years working as a translator. I believe God wants me to work one more year and then enroll at the NTM Bible school in England. But I wouldn’t want to have missed out on any of those years of study or work. Just stay focused on your ultimate goal – to serve God with your life and there’s no better place to do that than in the mission field! Praying for you bro.

    • Nikkie
    • December 2nd, 2008

    Wow Miles! I love how passionate you are about this. I know God will lead you in the right direction and definitely praying for you.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

