it’s late, i’m a little fatigued, and here’s a poem that means absolutely nothing.

So in christianity and the creative process, we had to write 50 pages in our journal for the end of the semester. near the end, i was running out of ideas on what to write about, and this one night in particular, i decided to write whatever popped into my mind and make a poem out of it. i just wrote it down on a sheet of paper, so i’m going to copy it here as if it were written like a poem. i didn’t let my pencil leave the paper…aaand here it is:

Walking through a shadowed roof,
I trudged along the banks of gold.
Climbed up all the hill and dale
And took the things I sold.
I sat and pondered life and death,
And all that lies between.
That span of life, lies in a line,
Such a wonderful short dream.

Like daffodils and sunflower seeds,
I drink the night wind in.
I gasp and gaze at camera views
And chuckle at the pin.
Like fireflies go turning about,
So too the badger swings.
Up through the sky a mile high,
It laps it’s tired wings.

In candy canes and candy corn,
The corny jokes dissolve.
In pretty jewels and karat rings,
I seem quite unresolved.
The wasted time, the wasted time,
No redemption to be found.
Each ounce of moment in here and now
Sums up quite a pound.

Children laughing, mothers smiling,
Trees tossing back and forth,
I’m tired, I’m weak in need of much sleep,
I’ll hibernate, travel north.

My head is full of thoughts that tick,
And some spots just lie dead.
It’s in those spots and lazy thoughts,
My conscience turns blush red.
I’m writing nonsense, writing brilliance
With one thing in my head:
Just keep on writing, keep on fighting,
Or else you’ll end up where you didn’t think you would if you hadn’t. =|

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

