am i a soldier of the cross?

Why must Chris Tomlin and Hillsong (no offense) replace this beautiful literature by Isaac Watts?  And please don’t be deceived into thinking it’s about “cultural relevance.”  That’s not viable anymore since outreach is no longer fulfilling its intended purpose, as it use to.  Every member of our congregation knows the songs we sing in church.  They have been playing on repeat for the past 20 years.  I think it’s time to start thinking beyond the silly analogies of our generation such as “if God’s grace was an ocean, we’d all be sinking.

Oh, this song!  My favorite hymn.  What truth and boldness such as I have never seen in any of the worship songs of our time.  I am actually challenged every time I read this.  The “hymns” of our age are few and far between that ever challenge me and my walk.  The members of our churches need theology in their worship.  Christ saturated, challenging, and thought-provoking songs.  Not analogies.  Not emotion.  If our worship services are based off emotional experiences, the church in America will fail.

Experiences run out.  Feed the congregation theology in worship, and you will reap a congregation quenching for more of Jesus Christ.

Am I a soldier of the cross,
A follower of the Lamb,
And shall I fear to own His cause,
Or blush to speak His Name?

Must I be carried to the skies
On flowery beds of ease
,
While others fought to win the prize,
And sailed through bloody seas?

Are there no foes for me to face?
Must I not stem the flood?
Is this vile world a friend to grace,
To help me on to God?

Sure I must fight if I would reign;
Increase my courage, Lord.
I’ll bear the toil, endure the pain,
Supported by Thy Word.

Thy saints in all this glorious war
Shall conquer, though they die;
They see the triumph from afar,
By faith’s discerning eye.

When that illustrious day shall rise,
And all Thy armies shine
In robes of victory through the skies,
The glory shall be Thine.

-Isaac Watts

“Therefore let us leave the elementary teachings about Christ and go on to maturity…” -Hebrews 6:1

    • Doug Schaible
    • December 19th, 2009

    Good thoughts, Miles. There is a reason that these hymns have lasted as long as they do. They challenge and encourage the heart and soul of the individual. Keep pressing on.

    Doug

    • Ragan (the best sister ever!)
    • December 20th, 2009

    I agree…to an extent. I think the hymns and the theology they contain are extremely important; however, I also believe the imagery in the more contemporary worship songs are important because people seem to feel the need to visualize God’s greatness and are therefore able to through the excessive use of vivid imagery.
    I definately think that you are 100% right, but I feel we also need to not judge those who may not be as spiritually mature.

    • Chuck Fry
    • January 13th, 2010

    I so appreciate and agree with what you wrote here, Miles. Thanks for what you shared. So true.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

